With millions of WhatsApp messages being sent every minute, the chances of sending the wrong message is quite high.
For that reason, WhatsApp launched a much-awaited feature that let users delete messages on the Facebook-owned messaging platform after they were sent.
The update was well received but had one significant barrier — WhatsApp allowed users to delete messages only until seven minutes after the message was sent.
Users faced difficulties with the feature as it sometimes took more than seven minutes to realise that something needs to be deleted.
Keeping this in mind, WhatsApp has now offered an update that increases the time limit from ‘seven minutes’ to about 69 minutes or 4,096 seconds to be exact.
A new WhatsApp for iOS update (2.18.31) is available on AppStore.
It is a bug fixes update, but it has the new “Delete for everyone” limit, that’s 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds.
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) March 8, 2018
In its current form, the delete message feature replaces the sent message with the text “This message was deleted” once a message is deleted in the stipulated window.
The current update is only for iPhone users with an Android update likely to appear soon.
The original version of the story appears here.